skip to main content

NCCSS Hosts End of Year Meeting and Recognitions

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the social distancing restrictions still in place, the Nassau County Council of School Superintendents was unable to host their annual end of year meeting and recognition of retirees as usual. Instead, a virtual meeting was held on Wednesday, June 17.

During the meeting, the Council recognized retiring school district superintendents Dr. Rosemarie T. Bovino, Island Park UFSD, Mr. Albert Harper, Elmont UFSD; Dr. Anna Hunderfund, Locust Valley UFSD; Dr. James H. Hunderfund, Malverne UFSD; and Dr. William H. Johnson, Rockville Centre UFSD.

Outgoing Council president Dr. Nicholas A. Stirling thanked the Board of Directors for their service to the Council, Mr. Charles Cardillo for his services as Executive Director and the membership for their support and participation. Dr. Laura Seinfeld will serve the NCCSS as president in the 2020-2021 school year.

NCCSS Honors Nassau County Class of 2020 Valedictorians and Salutatorians

Each year at this time, the Nassau County Council of School Superintendents hosts a celebratory breakfast to honor the Nassau County valedictorians and salutatorians. Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, they were forced to cancel this year’s event. However, they continued to give the highest achieving students of the Class of 2020 the recognition they deserved. 

This year, each valedictorian and salutatorian received a Celebrating Excellence program, a personalized recognition plaque and a commemorative video. The program and video featured information about each Nassau County school district, the valedictorians and salutatorians, and the colleges they plan to attend. The impressive list of schools includes some of the finest colleges and universities in the country. The video also included a message from the president of the NCCSS, Dr. Nicholas Stirling, congratulating the students on their dedication and commitment to achieving their goals.

The NCCSS congratulates the Nassau County Class of 2020 valedictorians and salutatorians and wishes them continued success in the future.